Smaller Default Larger

User Rating: 0 / 5

Star inactiveStar inactiveStar inactiveStar inactiveStar inactive

defiantPresident Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf has suspended for one month without pay several officials who refused to declare their assets with the Liberia Anti-Corruption Commission (LACC).

In an Executive Mansion statement, the President also said those who failed to re-declare their assets after two years are also suspended on the job and will forfeit salary equivalent to the period until full compliance.

Prominent among those 'defiant' officials include Public Works Minister, Dr. Antoinette Weeks; National Investment Commission (NIC) Chairman, Michael Wotorson; NIC Executive Director, George Wisner; Chief of Protocol, Rufus Neufville and Chairman of the Board of Liberia Telecommunications Authority (LTA) Federick Norkeh.

Others include Nimba County Superintendent Fong Zuagele, acting Monrovia City Mayor Clara Doe Movogo, Assistant Director of Executive Protection Service (EPS) Darlington George, among others.

 Those officials who refused to re-declare their assets include, Dr. Florence Chenoweth, Minister of Agriculture; newly nominated Labor Minister, Neto Zarzar Lighe; Posts and Telecommunications Minister, Dr. Fredrick Norkeh; and Madam Matilda W. Parker, Managing Director of the National Port Authority (NPA).

 Others include Health Minister Dr. Walter Gwenigale, Minister of Education Etmonia D. Tarpeh, Minister of Lands, Mines and Energy Patrick Sendolo, among others.

 Recently, LACC Chairperson James Verdier told a news conference that the Commission would submit the listing of 'defiant' officials who refused to declare their assets to the President for appropriate actions.

Meanwhile, President Johnson-Sirleaf has commended all officials who have complied with the asset declaration.

She said their action is worth commending because it contributes to government’s commitment to transparency and accountability.